University Of Aberdeen King Quad
At the heart of the Conference Centre is King’s Auditorium – a stunning venue boasting large stained glassed windows, a barrel-vaulted ceiling, balcony area and individual conference desks.
State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, including a delegate voting system and video conferencing, coupled with distinctive surroundings make the Auditorium unique to the region.
Each individual conference desk has a designated microphone, lighting and AV panel, allowing delegates to send a request to speak and/or vote. The voting function is particularly unique, enabling the Chairperson to canvas opinion amongst delegates and receive statistical results on a separate digital panel, located on the speaker’s desk.
Additional seating is available within the balcony area of the Auditorium, although these do not include designated desk facilities.
- Floorplan of King’s College Conference Centre
Marischal College was founded in 1593, becoming Aberdeen’s second university. King’s College had been founded in 1495. The two Colleges merged in 1860 to form the modern University of Aberdeen. Medicine and Law were taught at Marischal and Arts and Divinity at King’s College.
Construction of the current Marischal College building began in the 1830s and a second phase was completed in 1906. This additional construction made it the second largest granite building in the world.
The teaching and research traditionally based at Marischal is now hosted at the Foresterhill and King’s College campuses, and the Marischal College building is leased to Aberdeen City Council, and since 2009 has been the Council’s headquarters.
Until 2008 the Marischal Museum was open to the public at Marischal College. The building still houses closed displays and the collections are available to view online in a virtual museum.
The University of Aberdeen
Tel: +44 (0)1224 272000